How can I manage and approve chores? (PLUS feature)

With Chores on RoosterMoney you can manage chores with ease.

The Chores list is split into five categories based on the status of the chore:

  • To Approve: Chores marked as complete by your child for you to approve. You can choose the following actions for these chores:
    • Approve - if the chore is complete mark it as approved
    • Not done - If the chore is not done and will not be completed, you can mark it as not done
    • Re open - if the chore was not done properly you can reopen it to move it back to the to do section
  • Overdue: Incomplete chores that are past the date they needed to be done by. You can choose the following actions for these chores:
    • Approve - if the chore is complete mark it as approved
    • Not done - If the chore is not done and will not be completed, you can mark it as not done
  • To do: Chores that are to be done today or in the future, or are available to be done any time. You can choose the following actions for these chores:
    • Approve - if the chore is complete mark it as approved
    • Not done - If the chore is not done and will not be completed, you can mark it as not done
  • Approved: Chores that have been approved 
  • Not done: Chores that have been marked as not done 

As the parent, you can change the status of a chore in the list in two ways:

  • One by one: to just change the status of one specific instance of a chore, tap on the name of the chore in the list. On the next screen you will see buttons at the bottom of the screen that you can change the status to.

  • In bulk: to change the status of several chores at once, either:
    • Tap on the square chore image on the left of each chore that you want to change. Once you have selected all of the chores to update choose the option at the top of the screen to change the status
    • Tap the 'Select' button on the right hand-side of the chores list. Then tap the tick box next to each chore that you want to update, or tap 'Select all' to select all. 

Your children can also complete chores and send them to you for approval! They can add a photo of the chore done when sending for approval and also leave a note.

You can give your child their own log-in details or use the 'Switch User' feature so they can mark chores off as they complete them from their account.  This article shows you how to set this up.  

When your child marks a chore as complete, you (and any secondary parents/guardians) will get notified to review the chore. If all looks well, you can approve the chore, but if it's not up to scratch, you also have the option to re-open it! When reopening, approving or making chores as 'Not Done', you can also add a note with explanation or just to say 'Thank You!'


If you are still on Chores v1

When on the Job's dashboard, you'll see two tabs you can switch between:

  1. Allowance Jobs
  2. Extra Jobs

You can tap between the two to view the jobs list or add a job for the given type.

When viewing Allowance Jobs, you'll see all jobs that need to be done in that allowance period, and your child's current progress towards completing them. 

The Allowance Jobs list is split into four categories based on their current state:

  • Awaiting Approval: Jobs marked as complete by your child that are waiting for you to approve
  • Overdue: Incomplete jobs past the date they needed to be done by that can be marked as approved or missed
  • Coming Up: Jobs for the remaining days in that allowance period 
  • Done / Missed: Jobs that have been approved or marked as missed by the parent (this section is collapsed which you can expand)

Your children can also complete jobs and send them to you for approval in the app!

You can give your child their own log-in details or use the 'Switch User' feature so they can mark jobs off as they complete them from their account.  This article shows you how to set this up.  

When your child marks a job as complete, you (and any secondary parents/guardians) will get notified to review the job. If all looks well, you can approve the job, but if it's not up to scratch, you also have the option to re-open it!

This can be done by clicking on the Job awaiting approval on your child's Job's dashboard, where you'll see the option to approve or re-open (and if overdue, mark as missed). 

Quick-swipe to save time

You also have the option to quick-swipe to approve or re-open jobs from the notification's inbox or within the Job's dashboard itself. Just use your finger to swipe left to Approve and right to Re-open.

What if my child didn't complete a Job?

If your child hasn't completed a Job, you can keep the list tidy by marking these overdue jobs as 'Missed'. Just tap on the job in the overdue section and you'll see the option! 

Can I undo a job I have marked as complete or missed?

No, once you have marked a job as completed or missed you cannot undo this.